Four Butler students honored in Topeka

Four Butler Community College students were honored Thursday, Feb. 16 in Topeka for their selection to the 2011-2012 All-Kansas Academic Team. Nhat Chau from Vietnam/Wichita, Xavia Warren from Wichita, Joel Piper from McPherson, and Emily Jackson from Waco, Texas, were among 53 community college scholars selected statewide. 


Above: Butler Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Susan Forrest, Nhat Chau, Xavia Warren, Joel Piper, Emily Jackson and Butler President Jackie Vietti

The students were recognized by Kansas Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer for their academic accomplishments during the Seventeenth Annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon on Thursday at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka.


Above: Butler Phi Theta Kappa All-Kansas Academic Team members with Kansas Representatives John Grange and David Crum.

Each student received a proclamation issued by Gov. Sam Brownback, an educational stipend to the students’ college of choice and an academic medallion. The Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University have provided scholarships in the minimum amount of $1,000 for the All-Kansas Team recipients who transfer to their institutions. Additionally, several other Kansas colleges provide generous scholarships to transferring All-American Team scholars. 

The All-Kansas Academic Team is sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents. Introduced in 1994, the State Academic Teams were established as a way to recognize PTK members and promote excellence at two-year schools.

Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. Butler is home to the Alpha Phi Alpha chapter. 

Each scholar was selected by his or her own community college for the annual statewide academic team, and each scholar also is a nominee for the 2011-12 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., PTK is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in every U.S. state and all over the world. More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with more than 100,000 students inducted annually.

Since 1991, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges have sponsored the national All-USA Academic Team Program. The Kansas program is an affiliate, and the Kansas students are all nominees for the national honor.



6 thoughts on “Four Butler students honored in Topeka

  1. Jodi Jackson says:

    Really proud of you! Congratulations.

  2. Martha Garrett says:

    Congratulations. Well-deserved!

  3. Glady Platner says:

    No surprise that you earned this honor. You should be very proud of yourself!

  4. Karen York says:

    Congratulations! Your hard work has its rewards.

  5. Kathy Spears says:

    Congratulations! All your family members in Oklahoma are proud of you!

  6. john jenkinson says:

    Ha! Great job, Xavia — but as someone already said, NO SURPRISE. Glad to have had you in class, where you were a shining example. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: