No one said it would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.

Usually I’m completely stoked for the end of the school year. I simply can’t wait to feel the freedom summer has to offer and spend countless hours on our farm working in the hay field and with cattle, going to shows and seeing old friends and making new ones.

But this year, it is a teensy bit bittersweet.

Saturday night was the Butler Livestock Judging banquet. No, I’m not a judger, but I’m the most loyal tag-a-long/groupie/roomie/friend those guys have ever had I’m sure! So of course I was in attendance.

And naturally, I got to thinking about my time here. How I was this close to going to the community college 15 minutes from home because I had no reason to do anything different. But then Chris Mullinix said he could give me an ag scholarship, and I thought “Hey, what do I have to lose?” At the time, I had no idea that I had a whole new set of adventures and ‘family’ waiting for me that I would never trade for anything. I don’t think I will ever be able to fully thank Chris for giving me all that through a simple scholarship.

Butler and the instructors here have opened countless doors for me. Not only do I have a few more bridesmaids for my wedding, but the professional people I have met is unbelievable. One of those happens to be the former CEO of Tyson Foods, Greg Lee, who came to speak at the Ag Department’s open house. The Ag Ambassadors has been a tremendous organization to be apart of. Together, our group has not only educated the public about the school’s ag program, where their food comes from and agriculture in general, but we have accomplished our purposes while making memories we will never forget.

Never for one minute have I regretted my decision to attend Butler. I fully believe it has prepared me for my next steps in life. I am looking forward to interning with Osborne & Barr, an agricultural advertising agency, this summer in Kansas City. This fall, I will become a Wildcat at Kansas State University to major in Animal Science and minor in Spanish.

If there is one thing life has given me a first hand account of during my two years at Butler, it is that sometimes plans will change. But everything and everyone come into your life for a reason. So take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way. Always look for the silver lining in the cloud. I’ll leave you with a quote that a dear friend told me one time, and I think it fits perfectly:

“If you get a chance- TAKE IT!
If it changes your life-LET IT!
No one ever said it would be easy, they only promised it would be worth it.”

Leave a Reply

