Comin’ from Kate’s Kitchin

When you start college you gain a lot of responsibilities. You have to start doing your own laundry, wash dishes, and cook meals (if you didn’t have to do all these things already!). And since I live at home while I’m going to college, some people may think that I have it super easy, and I do have it pretty easy not gonna lie. But my parents did enforce some new rules for me, so I can still gain some responsibilities. One of those rules is that I have to prepare a meal for my family once a week. And I’m not talking about some of the college students’ ideas for meals such as fast food, or microwavables. I have to fix the real deal, with side dishes and everything! So to get my cookin’ career started, I found this cookbook at Dillons that has some pretty tasty recipes in it.

The main course that I decided to make for supper this week, was Southwestern Goulash by Vikki Rebholz. Here is the recipe for it:

1 cup uncooked elbow macaroni

1 pound lean ground beef (90% lean)

1 medium onion, chopped – I only used half an onion

1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained

2/3 cup frozen corn

1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce

1 can (4 ounces) chopped green chilies

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup minced fresh cilantro

And here’s the steps to make it: 1. Cook macaroni according to the package directions. Meanwhile, in an oven over medium heat, cook beef and onion until meat is no loner pink; drain. Stir in the tomatoes, corn tomato sauce, chilies, cumin, pepper and salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 3-4 minutes or until heated through. 2. Drain macaroni; add to meat mixture. Stir in cilantro and heat through.

For my side dishes, I decided corn and crescent rolls would go nicely. Here’s a look at my delicious display of our dinner, yum! 🙂

So now you probably want to know how this tastes, right? Well if you like spicy food, and goulash, than this southwestern kick makes this mix worth your while!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

