Gov. Brownback honors Butler students in Topeka for 2010-2011 All-Kansas Academic Team

Four Butler Community College students were honored Thursday, Feb. 17 in Topeka for their selection to the 2010-2011 All-Kansas Academic Team. Lauren Madding, Wichita, Brittany Rieschick, Augusta, Elizabeth Tallman, Newton, and Myjaeda Ballard, Wichita, were among 51 community college scholars selected statewide. 


Above: Myjaeda Ballard, Elizabeth Tallman, Butler President Jackie Vietti, Brittany Rieschick and Lauren Madding

The students were recognized by Kansas Governor Sam Brownback for their academic accomplishments during the Sixteenth Annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon on Thursday. The Luncheon was held at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka in conjunction with February’s Kansas Board of Regents meeting.

Each student received a proclamation issued by Gov. Sam Brownback, an educational stipend to the students’ college of choice and an academic medallion. The Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University have provided scholarships in the minimum amount of $1,000 for the All-Kansas Team recipients who transfer to their institutions. Additionally, several other Kansas colleges provide generous scholarships to transferring All-American Team scholars. 

The All-Kansas Academic Team is sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents. Introduced in 1994, the State Academic Teams were established as a way to recognize PTK members and promote excellence at two-year schools.

Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. Butler is home to the Alpha Phi Alpha chapter. 

Each scholar was selected by his or her own community college for the annual statewide academic team, and each scholar also is a nominee for the 2010-11 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., PTK is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in every U.S. state and all over the world. More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with more than 100,000 students inducted annually.

Since 1991, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges have sponsored the national All-USA Academic Team Program. The Kansas program is an affiliate, and the Kansas students are all nominees for the national honor.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: