Judgment of the Court – Even Monkeys Can Paint

Judgment of the Court – Even Monkeys Can Paint

I’m in a dilemma. This is my last semester here at Butler and I still have no idea what I want to do after I graduate. I want to move to Wichita so I can be around the multiple wonderful people that I’ve met in a young adults group, but a long discussion today with two people much smarter than me made me remember that finishing school should always be my top priority. Having to leave the first true friends I’ve ever really had will be incredibly hard, but statistics prove again and again that the more education a person has the better chances they have for finding an adequate paying job. “According to the Census Bureau, over an adult’s working life, high school graduates earn an average of $1.2 million; associate’s degree holders earn about $1.6 million; and bachelor’s degree holders earn about $2.1 million (Day and Newburger, 2002).”

So after getting my associates at Butler, I’ll be doing a lot better than if I had jumped into the workforce right out of high school, but if I really want to have a nice life, which I do, then I’m going to have to give up the here-and-now to focus on my future. Whether that means working extra hard to pay for schooling and rent in Wichita or moving back home to commute to ESU, I’m not sure yet. But Margaret Thatcher said it best in her quote “Disciplining yourself to do what you know is right and important, although difficult, is the highroad to pride, self-esteem, and personal satisfaction.”

So, from 8:00 this morning to the time that I’m writing to you now, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not going to take off a semester or year of school. So now comes the next step: picking a major. I’m not particularly skilled at anything at this point in my life. But as stated above, even monkeys can paint, meaning skills can be learned and acquired. I now have to focus on what I want to learn to be skilled at and go for it. But that’s for another day….

What things are you doing/have done to help determine your future so you’re not just a monkey with a blank canvas?

2 thoughts on “Judgment of the Court – Even Monkeys Can Paint

  1. Tom says:

    I was very lucky during my college days that for one summer I ran a pool hall in my hometown. Though not glamorous, it taught me that I could be self-employed. And I liked being self-employed. I got a degree in accounting and worked for myself for thirty years and was successful. If you can find out what you really want to do, go for it. You only live once.

  2. courtfrye says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! I’m slowly getting in to the process of figuring out what I like to do. Kinda realizing how sheltered my life has been! Which isn’t completely a bad thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

