Name calling on campus

I came from a small high school where every single teacher knew my name, knew my brother’s name, knew who my parents were, etc. When I came to college, I didn’t expect the same thing, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that teacher’s here at Butler are very good about engaging relationships with students.

What really got to me was that a teacher the other day saw me walking and said hi, asked how I was and called me by my name. The thing is though, I only had her once a week last semester, yet she still remembers me by name.

It’s nice to know that teachers care enough to learn names. Every single one of my teachers here at Butler have always let students know they are more than welcome to visit during office hours and ask questions.

I will really miss this about Butler when I leave here, and I will never forget how much it mattered to me.

Leave a Reply

