Easter Weekend

I love Easter! It’s another one of those holidays that people try to spend time with family on, like Christmas and Thanksgiving. Not to mention it’s a very special day for the Christian religion. I mean, without Easter, there wouldn’t even be Christianity!

I spent last weekend with my two families. Saturday afternoon was spent at my boyfriend, Tim’s, house dying Easter eggs with his family and getting everything ready for the Easter Bunny to come the next morning. I’m not the best artist in the world, but it was still a lot of fun!

Katie's Spring egg

Sunday morning my church had a sunrise service at 7:30 and afterwards we had an all church breakfast served by the men. After that was the normal service and then it was time to go home for the family Easter time. My oldest-younger brother and I are too old for an actual Easter egg hunt, but we’ve found a way to still make the day fun and get the candy as well. We hide each other’s eggs throughout the house in as hard of places as possible. This year Tim and my brother hid the eggs in places like on top of the ceiling fan, in the wood-burning stove, and in vents. It takes about 30 minutes for each of us to finally find all the eggs, so needless to say, it’s a little bit of a challenge!

But my favorite part of Easter is still the family dinner. My mom makes ham, homemade rolls, pies, veggie and fruit platters, and other foods that we don’t get many other times throughout the year. And since it’s Easter, everyone tries to be on their best behavior, so it’s usually a very enjoyable evening.

I’m big into traditions like that, but I know some people like going with the flow and keeping life interesting. What does your family do? Does the Easter bunny still visit the younger kids in your family?

Leave a Reply

