My Must Do List

I’ve recently been talking to an old friend of mine who just isn’t happy with his life. He’s a freshman in college, like me, and he constantly talks about how alone he feels even though he’s always surrounded by other people. He doesn’t have a very bright outlook on the future. On the other hand, I’m thinking that this is the best place in life to be. This is the time to make new changes to my life and to figure out who I want to be. And I don’t have debt yet, so financially I can do almost anything I want to as long as I save up for it.

And that leads in to the top three things I want to do with my life before I officially settle down and have kids, if I ever do. Kids are alright, but let’s face it; they sometimes handicap us from enjoying the things we’d really like to be doing.

First of all, I want to go skydiving. I’ve wanted to ever since I was seventeen, but it just hasn’t happened yet. My friends that were going to go backed out the first time we were trying to schedule a time to do it, and last summer we just ran out of time. So this summer, hopefully I’ll be able to check off that first thing on my list.

The second is the typical vacation to somewhere warm where I can scuba dive and parasail and try surfing or something else fun. Nothing too extravagant, but still stuff you can’t do if you have to bring kids along.

The last thing I want to do is take a trip around the U.S. only visiting places that are in songs. Like Memphis and Beale Street from the song “Walkin’ in Memphis” and Las Vegas from “Viva Las Vegas”. I want to make the songs a part of the map and play the song for the place when I get there. This trip probably sounds boring to most and cheesy to others, but I think it’d be a lot of fun. I mean, the places would have to be somewhat significant to have a song written about them!

Beale Street in Memphis, TN

Now I just need to find a song written about the Grand Canyon so I can add that to the map….

Leave a Reply

