Thanksgiving Break

Thanksgiving break was awesome! (Except maybe a bit too short) I went home to Council Grove for the start of break and hung out at my friends’ house the first night. The next morning it was time to hit the road for my grandparents’ house. They live in Caney, KS, way over by Oklahoma, and the three-hour drive with my family and three-year-old brother is always interesting. Anyone who has taken a long car trip with their family knows what I’m talking about. I always find it interesting how the minute we get started on the drive, my brothers are all hungry at the same time, even though we just ate before we left.

This year we were able to have the whole Frye family there for the day and we fit all 22 of us into three tables in the living room. Usually we are missing a cousin or two since all the older ones have moved to other states. My cousin Sara had a baby a few months ago and it was awesome to see him for the first time! The food was wonderful, of course and many of us passed out after lunch while the others sat around talking and watching football.

Friday night we went to watch my Uncle Mark’s high school football team play in Oklahoma. They were playing in the State playoffs and ended up winning in a very exciting, very close game. Saturday I went to my friend Melinda’s house to help them decorate the house for Christmas. We couldn’t find a box with the main ornaments and decorations in it, so I’ll have to go back again when that is found. This is fine with me, because the baking afterwards is lots of fun! We made brownie cookies and mini gingerbread men 🙂

Now it’s time to get my work ready and everything studied for finals next week and then it’s back to break time!

Leave a Reply

