About Sippy

Hello!  My name is Melissa “Sippy” Krau.  I was born and raised on the awesome island of Maui.  When I turned 20 I realized I was living on a small rock in the middle of the Pacific and decided I needed to move to the mainland. Here you can drive to another state not just drive and see more ocean.  I somehow made my way to El Dorado Kansas and have been here for about 5 months.  I am a sophomore here at Butler and, like all of the students who are not sure what they would like to do with the rest of their lives, I am majoring in liberal arts.  I recently became a member of the Student Government Association.

I would like to apologize now for how often I may complain about this freezing weather you all have here in Kansas.  It is a beautiful state even if it gets a tad bit freezing in the winters and the wind tries to peel the skin from your body.  There are definitely no warm beaches and sunny comfortable winters here.  The numerous open pastures on the side of the interstate and fields of sunflowers are something you will not see on Maui.  You will also be unable to find any of those fat drifting snowflakes on Maui that I have had the pleasure of seeing here.

I love going to different school events whether it is sports, free movie night at the Warren, field trips to the town of Greensburg or programs in the dorms.  If I am invited or hear about something fun and do not have to attend one of those pesky things called classes, I will be there.  You will generally see my blogs about the different events that are happening at Butler and sometimes out in the community.  You may get lucky and see other topics such as the lack of warm clothes available in the state of Kansas for me to purchase to help keep me warm this winter.

3 thoughts on “About Sippy

  1. Ryan Entz says:

    Great to have you in sunny Kansas – and at Butler. And while the island was cramping your style…a lot of us wouldn’t mind being on a rock in the middle of the ocean for a while…

  2. Jodi Cole says:

    Hi Melissa! You’re right, Hawaii is such a beautiful place — yo u’re so right about that! You’re also right about the weather here. Just remember, if you don’t like the weather here in Kansas, just wait a few minutes and it’ll change! Great introduction!!!

  3. Sarah Everitt says:

    I’m your biggest fan Sippy!! I’m starting a Sippy fan club on facebook and probably making T-shirts within the next few weeks!! Keep blogging, I look forward to learning more about your life. 😉

Leave a Reply

